Aldershot Cricket Club To Raise Funds For Defibrilator

Aldershot Cricket Club are delighted to announce that they have started raising funds to bring a defibrilator to the club. After a meeting with the Committee, the Club President Lance Havell has decided to purchase the equipment, which will be used to potnetially save lives should the worst happen on the cricket field. The idea was launched at the start of the month, and altogether there has been £335.51 raised and counting as Aldershot Cricket Club aim to raise the £1,000 required for the defibrilator. If you are someone that would like to donate some money then and volunteer by running a coffee morning, doing a car boot sale or a charity activity then please see Lance Havell, who is usually at the club watching the cricket on Saturday afternoons.

Aldershot Cricket Club held their annual general meeting at Guildford Road on Friday 17th February 2017. Allen Green stepped down as the club's President as he looks to wind down into his retirement. Aldershot Cricket would like to thank Allen for his service over the years. After a year in the role, Peter Harris stepped down as chairman to pursue his new role as Youth Development Officer, where he will work alongside Janine Hughes.

Paul Munro has been appointed as Chairman of Aldershot Cricket Club. With his new role, it means that Mark Padwick has taken over as the club's secretary. There was also a change in the position of Treasurer, where Neil Mumby stepped down after 5 seasons in the role and he has been replaced by Lynne White.

The other changes to the committee saw long-serving Allen Green step down as Deputy Welfare Officer, whilst Lucy Bridger is no longer the Entertainments Manager. Both of these replacements will be announced in due course on the Aldershot Cricket Club Twitter Page (@AshotCricket) and on the club website.

All other positions on the committee have remained the same for the 2017 season.

Players' AGM

​The Players' AGM was held on Thursday 24th November, and the following positions were elected for the upcoming 2017 season:

  • 1st XI captain: Amir Hameed
  • 1st XI vice-captain: Faisal Abbas
  • Women's captain: Taylor Newcombe
  • Women's vice-captain: Jo Harfield
  • 2nd XI captain: Andy Taylor
  • ​2nd XI vice-captain: Jamie Grover
  • ​3rd XI captain: Andy Summers
  • ​3rd XI vice-captain: Garry Dates
  • ​4th XI captain: Martin Harris
  • ​4th XI vice-captain: Ray Burnett
  • ​5th XI captain: Mark Padwick
  • ​5th XI vice-captain: Paul Munro
  • ​Sunday captain: Jamie Grover
  • ​Mid-week captain: Ben Harris
  • ​Fixture secretary: Mark Grover

There was also a lengthy discussion about the best way to use coaching resources to help players' development and how to build the playing strength of the 1st and 2nd XI overs the coming seasons. The Cricket Committee are trying out different ideas for winter and summer nets and would also welcome the thoughts of the wider membership.


Aldershot Cricket Club AGM

​2016 Awards Evening

On 26 November 2016, we again visited the Princess Royal in Runfold.  After an excellent meal, chairman Pete Harris gave a somewhat shorter speech than at a traditional dinner and dance, and after the speech he listed the following end of season finishing positions for each team:

  • 1st XI: Thames Valley Cricket League Division 3A, Champions
  • Women: Hampshire Cricket League Division 1, Champions)
  • 2nd XI: Thames Valley Cricket League Division 5B, 5th position
  • 3rd XI: Thames Valley Cricket League Division 6B, 8th position
  • 4th XI: Hampshire Cricket League Division 2N, 15th position
  • 5th XI: Hampshire Cricket League Division 4NE, 15th position
  • Mid-week team, 2nd position

The 2016 Chairman, Peter Harris, awarded prizes for the leading players in each team:

  • 1st XI batting: Rory Collins
  • 1st XI bowling: Vineet Sinha
  • Women batting: Lucie Spooner
  • Women bowling: Jo Harfield
  • 2nd XI batting: Ben Harris
  • 2nd XI bowling: Jamie Grover
  • 3rd XI batting:  Dominic Gaskill
  • 3rd XI bowling: Danny Birch
  • 4th XI batting: Chris McGovern
  • 4th XI bowling: Euan Pusey
  • 5th XI batting: Ken Hitchcock
  • 5th XI bowling: Mark Shine

Finally, the general club awards were announced:

  • Performance of the season: Rory Collins for scoring 1,000 runs in the calendar year including four centuries
  • ​Fielder of the year: Scott Tilson and Alex Farr for stand-out fielding in the 1st XI
  • Young player: Kash Limbu for establishing himself in the 3rd XI and Kirin Sahota for cementing her place as the 4th XI wicket-keeper
  • ​Clubman of the year: Dominic Gaskill for all his hard work on the ground throughout the season.